Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - chocadmin

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 11
31
General / Nestle going fair trade too!
« on: December 07, 2009, 08:32:27 pm »
Yep Kit Kat's are going fair trade from Jan next year. Full story here: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/8397870.stm
Clearly the move from Cadbury forced this to happen. For my money Divine is still the best fair trade choc out there (and it's far better than more mainstream brands anyway).

32
General / Quality Street question
« on: December 06, 2009, 04:29:32 pm »
Hi all,
I've been asked a bit of a tricky question so wondered if anyone else had a better memory than I (not hard).
When did Nestle replace the brazil nut in the purple quality street with hazelnut?
I know for a while it was still called a brazil (allegedly because of the shape) after this change, and I'm pretty sure it happened in the nineties, but I'm not sure exactly when.
Any ideas?

33
General / Bid wars over Cadbury
« on: November 22, 2009, 11:07:39 pm »
So hershey/ferrero are joining the bidding for Cadbury, and there's a rumour that Nestle might too.
For all the latest links for info check out my Facebook group http://www.facebook.com/topic.php?topic=11999&uid=130663037715#/group.php?gid=130663037715
Also added a little voting panel on the homepage of www.chocolatereview.co.uk

What does everyone else think, good thing, bad thing, indifferent?

34
General / ooh naughty forum software
« on: November 13, 2009, 01:36:02 am »
So earlier this evening (I guess I started around 23:45) I tried to upgrade the forum to the latest release.  >:(
Unfortunately it failed - I think because of the chat room (I'll uninstall that before upgrading again).
I've rolled everything back (from backups taken immediately prior to the change), but I can't be 100% sure that everything is as it was.
Any issues or 'oddness' in the forum just reply to this posting to let me know.
Many thanks.

35
New Products / Milka with Dime
« on: September 27, 2009, 09:47:40 am »
Found these in Tesco (as those following me on Twitter will already know).
Cinabar (the massive Milka fan) has told me that these normally come from Germany so well done Tesco + Milka for bringing them to these shores.
They are very good indeed (like a dime that got smashed up and fell into a vat of lovely swiss chocolate).

36
New Products / Toblerone Tobelle
« on: September 20, 2009, 11:22:23 am »
Find these in your supermarket Christmas section.
They're rather different - individual triangle slices of toblerone. I think the nougat to chocolate ratio is higher than normal (although Mrs chocadmin thinks the opposite).
They do get a bit moreish if you eat more than one in a go though :P

37
News / Chocolate Week 12th-18th October
« on: September 18, 2009, 08:51:17 pm »
More details here: www.chocolateweek.co.uk

38
Old Products / Vice Versas still not in sight
« on: September 15, 2009, 09:16:05 pm »
So I contacted Nestle to see whether there's any chance of a return to production for Vice Versas, and pointed out that there are at least two petitions near or over 1000 people (the one on this site and one linked via the Facebook group) and there are over 4000 people in the Facebook group too.
Sadly the reply I got was the stock one that they must have used before (it's basically the same as what's written on wikipedia). Here's the reply:
"Thank you very much for your email.
 
Unfortunately we had to withdraw Vice Versas from our range as they were expensive to make and sales were relatively low. It was a difficult decision for us because we are proud of all our products and do not like to disappoint our consumers.
 
We hope you can understand why we took this decision. Thank you once again for taking the trouble to contact us."

Ah well...

39
Old Products / OMG Mars Dark
« on: September 12, 2009, 01:27:10 pm »
mars kept this quiet. mars dark is here. its limited edition, and i hopethe same as mars midnight.
will update when i've stopped driving.

41
General / Max size choc bars - say it won't happen
« on: August 24, 2009, 12:08:20 pm »
Yes the government would like to impose a maximum size of 40g for all choc bars (I assume they're not including tablet form factors in that).
I guess the manufacturers would be happy to make smaller bars for the same price, but what do you all think?

43
General / Going on the radio
« on: August 22, 2009, 04:12:42 pm »
Hi all, I'm going to be on the radio on Monday  :o
Some Liverpool and North West regional station is having a debate about biscuits and chocolate so I'll be joining in between 11 and 12 on Monday 24th August.
Here's hoping I don't let you all down  ;)

44
FAQ / How are creme eggs made?
« on: July 04, 2009, 08:24:04 pm »

45
General / Facebook Interface (beta)
« on: April 20, 2009, 10:26:22 pm »
Hi all,
I've created a facebook interface for the chocolate review. It's quite basic at present (simple voting, no details, no search yet, accounts not linked between FB and chocolate review).
Those of you with a facebook account I urge you to give it a go and let me know your thoughts/ideas on here.
Thanks.

Link (although it should be visible via Facebook search):
http://apps.facebook.com/chocolatereview/

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 11